Skip to Content

2012 Human and Civil Rights Award Winners

 The 2012 NEA Human and Civil Rights Awards Dinner was held on July 1, 2012 in the Grand Ballroom of the Walter E. Washington Convention Center , Washington, D.C. The theme for this year's dinner was "Human and Civil Rights Heroes: Making History in Challenging Times." Click on the links below for information on this year's winners.

Award Category Recipient
Applegate-Dorros Peace and International Understanding Award

John Robert "Rob" Fretters
Carter G. Woodson Memorial Award

Jerry Gore
César Chávez Acción y Compromiso Human and Civil Rights Award

Mary Ann Pacheco
Ellison S. Onizuka Memorial Award

Stewart Kwoh
George I. Sánchez Memorial Award

Rosalinda Carreón-Altamirano
Leo Reano Memorial Award

Dream of Eagles
Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Award

Rev. Dr. Ralph David Abernathy
Mary Hatwood Futrell Award

Theresa Bwanya Kashale
Reg Weaver Human and Civil Rights Award

Dr. Paul Hernandez
Rosa Parks Memorial Award

Caroline Hunter
Rosena J. Willis Memorial Award (Local)

Jefferson County Teachers Association
SuAnne Big Crowe Memorial Award

Graeme Taylor
Virginia Uribe Award for Creative Leadership in Human Rights

Rev. Mark Kiyimba